It is common to find maltodextrin in many plant milks and other food products as a sweetener. But if you are gluten intolerant and have celiac disease, you should be careful.
Also known as celiac disease, gluten intolerance consists of a disorder of the small intestine caused by an immune response to gluten, a reserve protein found in wheat in other cereals (such as rye, oats and barley). When a person suffers from gluten intolerance or celiac disease, a number of symptoms arise such as poor appetite, nausea and vomiting, abdominal pain or cramps, bloating and gas, feeling weak or fatigued, and sudden weight loss.
Therefore, when a person has celiac disease, they should pay special attention to the list of ingredients that make up the different food products they buy when they go to a supermarket or department store.
In the event that you prefer plant milks instead of animal milk, despite being a drink of plant origin that is made from cereals and seeds, they may contain maltodextrin, which is commonly used as a sweetener.
What is maltodextrin?
Maltodextrin is a polysaccharide with great sweetening power, which is obtained by hydrolysis of starch, a type of carbohydrate that we find in a very great diversity of foods, actually very varied, such as cereals, rice or potatoes.
It is usually presented as an off-white powder, which is soluble in cold or hot water, and is used in cooking to provide a slightly sweet flavor.
Why should people with gluten intolerance be careful with maltodextrin?
Many nutritionists advise celiac people not to risk consuming products that contain maltodextrin as an additive, as long as they are not sure of its origin, since both barley and wheat contain gluten, and this additive can be found in products as diverse as a caramel, a jelly or a soup.
On the other hand, it produces an energetic effect similar to that of glucose, since your body assimilates it quickly, hence it is not so advisable to take plant-based milks that contain maltodextrin.
In case of opting for vegetable drinks, it is best to opt for those with cereals, nuts or seeds that do not contain maltodextrin among their ingredients.